Welcome to Londontown

After a 10 hour flight, a 20 minute train ride, 40 minutes trying to figure out the underground, and a half mile trek from the tube station (all while lugging our heavy bags), my friend and I finally made it to our dormitory just as our welcome meeting was starting. Mind you, it should have only taken 30 minutes to get from the airport! Thank goodness I had a friend, because the whole experience felt a little like learning to swim by being tossed in the ocean with waves crashing and sharks circling in the midst of a hurricane.

Our dorm is a giant building where a lot of different international students stay, so it’s fun hear where everyone’s from and have the chance to meet so many students from other places. We have class 4 days a week, and when we’re done our professors let us know what adventure they have planned for the rest of that day. It’s so much fun because we all go together on these outings, but once we’re there we’re free to break off in groups and explore at our leisure, then find our way back to the dorm whenever we please.

This is only my second full day here, and already I’ve seen Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, the London Eye, the Tower of London, Tower Bridge, St. Paul’s Cathedral, Abbey Road, and Camden Market. I am officially a pro at navigating the tube! Most of those sights were seen with the group as a whole, but after we saw the Tower of London yesterday, my friend and I decided to wander off from the group which is when we stumbled across the magnificent St. Paul’s Cathedral. I remember from my last brief trip to London that St. Paul’s was one of my favorite places in the city, so randomly finding it was so exciting! The thing that most amazes me about London is that there are so many old and beautiful buildings just dripping with history around every corner.

Ever since I arrived, random waves of joy and excitement will wash over me, and a huge grin will spread across my face as it hits me that I’m really here, in London! I always dream of getting away and traveling to far off places, but actually being here is almost magical. I am enjoying every minute, and trying my best to take in as much as I possibly can of this amazing city.

Tower Bridge

Tower Bridge

Classic British telephone booth

St. Paul's

St. Paul’s Cathedral peaking through the trees

More lovely architecture 

Leave a Reply

